Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments

  1. I am the Lord your God. You shall not have any strange gods before me.
  2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  3. Remember to keep holy the sabbath day.
  4. Honor your father and your mother.
  5. You shall not kill.
  6. You shall not commit adultery.
  7. You shall not steal.
  8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  9. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife.
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor's goods.


The Ten Commandments are a set of fundamental principles related to morality and worship. According to the book of Exodus, God engraved them onto two tablets at the top of Mount Sinai, which He then gave to Moses to deliver to the Israelites. Today, the Ten Commandments serve as a foundation to not only Roman Catholicism, but all of Christianity.